It has been a tough year, winter over stayed its welcome by several months. In the past it would have been fine. I would have enjoyed the extended ski season and not fretted about my garden. This year was different – I am rehabbing from microfracture repair and in May at  the one year mark of my surgery I was just regaining full strength. But muscle strength was not the issue – I am still working on rebuilding sports confidence and I still have a long way to go before I am back. As a result of the confidence issues, alpine skiing and climbing  has just not been on the menu – yet. Instead of heading to the mountain I waited for spring to arrive so I could get back to one of my other loves – one that does not currently scare the crap out of me – gardening.

It was a cruel for spring to pass me by – the first set of seeds I planted in early spring were lost – to snow – in Portland – in March. WTF. The second set shivered in the ground and finally germinated – two months later. There is a silver lining – as small as it is – I did learn that containers help – they keep the soil warmer. Next year – more things in containers.

The farmers market appears to have suffered as much as me. Greens were really it until the last two weeks. June strawberries were late to the party, it is almost July and the strawberries are just arriving.

To make matters worse – it appears that asparagus opted not to stick around. The sign at the local farmer’s market noted – last weekend for asparagus. That just added insult to injury. With a heavy sigh – I grabbed four pounds and got to work . One of the reasons why I started canning – it extends the season.

Normally when I pickle asparagus I like a little thicker stalk – but given the grower’s “end of life” notice I could not be picky so the pictures here are all  skinny stalks. If you have never had pickled asparagus they pair well with thinly sliced ham – skinny stalks are not so good for that. However, these puppies look like they would be smashing in a bloody mary.

Recipe adapted from “Put ’em Up!” by Sheri Brooks Vinton- makes about 4 pints

4 # asparagus – washed and cut to fit jars

4 cups apple cider vinegar

1 cup water

2 TBS sugar (I used evaporated cane juice)

1/4 cup salt

4 garlic cloves

1 TBS each of mustard seed (I used brown mustard seed) and celery seed

1 tsp of peppercorns

Tightly pack the asparagus into pint (or pint equivalent) jars.* Bring the vinegar, water, salt and sugar to a boil and split the remaining ingredients among your jars. Pour boiling brine into the jars leaving 1/2 inch head space. Wipe rims clean, cap and process for 15 minutes in a boiling water bath canner – turn off stove and leave jars in hot water for another 5 minutes.  Let cool completely and check for seal.

*Note: I ran out of brine and had to quickly make more to fill my jars – lesson learned there is always room for more asparagus in your jar.

